Published on 1 October 2021
Share Tweet  Share

Senior policy figures added to the Bennett Institute’s governance boards

New expertise and experience will help direct the Bennett Institute's strategy.

New members from the academic and policy worlds are joining the Bennett Institute’s Management Board and International Advisory Council as the Institute grows. In the three years since its launch, the Institute has extended its interdisciplinary academic and policy research into major global challenges.

Dame Wendy Hall and Dame Shan Morgan are joining the International Advisory Council.

Dame Wendy Hall, DBE, FRS, FREng is Regius Professor of Computer Science, Associate Vice President (International Engagement) and is an Executive Director of the Web Science Institute at the University of Southampton. She is also Chair of the Ada Lovelace Institute and joined the BT Technology Advisory board in January 2021.

Dame Shan Morgan is the former Welsh Government Permanent Secretary (2014-2021) where she led the Welsh Government Civil Service in delivering the priorities of Ministers, accountable for a budget of £19 billion. Her career spanned a wide range of roles in the Civil Service and Diplomatic Service nationally and internationally on subject areas including climate change, environment, energy, fisheries, social affairs, health, transport, Single Market issues, and social, environmental and regional affairs.

“They bring a wealth of expertise and experience to our already outstanding Advisory Council to advise on the Institute’s formidable future programme of research and teaching,” says Lord Chris Smith, Chair of the Bennett Institute Advisory Council, and Master of Pembroke College, Cambridge. “Their insights and experience will be invaluable to us.”

Joining the Management Board in Cambridge are Professor John Aston, Professor Jude Browne, and Baroness Sally Morgan.

Professor John Aston is Harding Professor of Statistics in Public Life, University of Cambridge. He is based in the Statistical Laboratory, Dept of Pure Maths and Mathematical Statistics and from 2017-2020 was Chief Scientific Adviser to the Home Office. He is an applied statistician who works in areas including medical imaging and official statistics. He was a founding director of the Alan Turing Institute.

Professor Jude Browne is the Head of Department of Politics and International Studies and the Jessica and Peter Frankopan Director of the University of Cambridge Centre for Gender Studies (on leave whilst HoD of POLIS). She is also a Fellow in Human, Social and Political Sciences at King’s College. Her particular research interests are situated at the intersection of political theory and public policy and include gender inequality, the concept of the public interest and the impact of new technologies on society.

Baroness Sally Morgan is the Master of Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge. She is a Labour peer, worked as Senior Advisor to Prime Minister Tony Blair 1997-2005, and was Minister for Women and Equalities.  She has always been very involved in education, and since 2005 has been Chair or advisor to charities serving disadvantaged young people including ARK, Ambition Institute and Frontline. She is currently a trustee of the Education Policy Institute and is also Chair of the Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Trust.

Professor Frank Kelly, Professor Jason Sharman and Lord Chris Smith, leave the Management Board having served since the Institute’s launch in May 2018.

“We’re delighted to welcome our new members to the Management Board and thank those who are stepping down after four years of service to the Bennett Institute. They have been instrumental in helping to establish the Institute’s direction and achievement in becoming a world-renowned research institute for public policy,” says Dame Fiona Reynolds, Chair of the Bennett Institute Management Board & former Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge.

Read more about each member of the Advisory Council and Management Board.

The views and opinions expressed in this post are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of the Bennett Institute for Public Policy.

Back to Top